-Postponed- Sylvia Lavin / Princeton University School of Architecture

Gui Auditorium / Knowlton Hall
April 1, 2020 - 5:30pm

As a result of concerns about COVID-19, this event has been postponed.

As a result of concerns about COVID-19, this event has been postponed.

Sylvia Lavin will deliver the April 1 Baumer Lecture in the Gui Auditorium in Knowlton Hall at 5:30 p.m. Lavin is Professor of History and Theory of Architecture and Co-Director of the Program in Media and Modernity at the Princeton University School of Architecture. She received her PhD from the Department of Art and Archaeology at Columbia University where she received fellowships from the Getty Center, the Kress Foundation, and the Social Science Research Council. Prior to her appointment at Princeton, Lavin was a professor in the Department of Architecture and Urban Design at UCLA, where she was chairperson from 1996 to 2006 and the director of the Critical Studies MA and PhD program from 2007 to 2017.

Lavin’s books include Quatremère de Quincy and the Invention of a Modern Language of Architecture, Form Follows Libido: Architecture and Richard Neutra in a Psychoanalytic Culture in 1992 and 2005, Kissing Architecture, and Flash in the Pan.

Lavin has curated the exhibition, Everything Loose Will Land: Art and Architecture in Los Angeles in the 1970s. Everything Loose Will Land was a principal component of the Pacific Standard Time series supported by the Getty Foundation and traveled from Los Angeles to New Haven and to Chicago. Exhibition Models, a show she curated for the Princeton University School of Architecture presented 18 models collected by Heinrich Klotz, historian of Brunelleschi and chronicler of postmodernism, as he formed the German Architecture Museum (DAM). Her installation, Super Models, was shown at the 2018 Chicago Architecture Biennial and she is currently working on Architecture Itself and Other Postmodernists Myths, an exhibition at the Canadian Center for Architecture in 2018.

Lavin is the recipient of an Arts and Letters Award in Architecture from the American Academy of Arts and Letters.