News from the School

Photo: Courtesy of The Photo Group
Sep 9

The Ohio State University master’s program in city and regional planning (MCRP) earned high marks in Planetizen’s 2019 Guide to Graduate Urban Planning Programs, rising to 15th nationally as ranked by planning educators, an increase from 16th in the 2017 rankings. “We are pleased to see that our peers and colleagues in the field of city and regional planning recognize the value of the work we do at Ohio State. We pride ourselves on the innovative undergraduate and graduate degree programs we offer and a distinctly optimistic and aspirational approach to planning inclusive, sustainable, and equitable cities and communities," said CRP Section Head Jennifer Clark.

Sep 4

Assistant Professor of City and Regional Planning Yasuyuki Motoyama has published From Innovation to Entrepreneurship: Connectivity-based Regional Development. The book is published by Edward Elgar Publishing, Inc. “More than 90 percent of cases I have observed told me that technology did not create markets or businesses,” stated Motoyama on a finding that did not align with the currently dominate theory of innovation. “Entrepreneurs created markets. Then, entrepreneurs later found technologies to make their businesses and markets happen.” Innovation and entrepreneurship are often considered two sides of the same coin. But are the links between innovation and entrepreneurship as inextricable as we think?

Sep 3

Review highlights of the 2018-19 academic year in the latest 

Aug 26

A lesson in environmental stewardship and sustainability is rooted in a field of corn located in the southwest courtyard outside the 18th Avenue Library on the Ohio State campus. Deeply rooted, in fact. Com-Til, a nutrient-rich compost made from residual bio-solids from City of Columbus wastewater treatment plants, was amended to the soil at the site to provide slow-release fertilization. As ears of corn golden and mature, the demonstration garden is bringing awareness to campus of the cycle of waste transformation.

Aug 24

The Landscape Architecture Section announces Dominique Ghiggi as the 2019 Glimcher Distinguished Visiting Professor. at the Knowlton School. Throughout the autumn semester, Ghiggi will conduct workshops and field research with landscape architecture students as part of the Glimcher Seminar. As part of the Baumer Lecture Series, Ghiggi will lecture in Knowlton Hall’s Gui Auditorium at 5:30 p.m. on Wednesday, October 30. The talk is free and open to the public.

Aug 22

The Knowlton School welcomes Galen Pardee as the Howard E. LeFevre ’29 Emerging Practitioner Fellow for 2019-20. Galen Pardee’s work focuses on the material and logistical underpinnings of architectural practice and form, seeking to understand architecture's agency within ecosystems of political, social, environmental, and material regulations, as well as architects' ability to enact change within these environments. His work asks: How can architectural tools and technologies inform both design practice and public advocacy in the face of climate change?


Aug 19

The 2019 Herbert Baumer Memorial Seminars will focus on the work of Sharon Johnston and Mark Lee, co-founders of the Los Angeles-based Johnston Marklee & Associates.

Aug 13

The Knowlton School is pleased to announce Zach Cohen as a Yessios Visiting Assistant Professor for 2019-2020. The Fellowship provides a residency to investigate a specific project related to emerging digital fabrication tools and related technologies, and to produce within the Fellowship period a lecture, exhibition and workshops concerning that work.

Aug 12

The Landscape Architecture Section announces Jason Siebenmorgen as the 2019 Trott Distinguished Visiting Professor at the Knowlton School. Throughout the autumn semester, Siebenmorgen will conduct workshops and field research with landscape architecture students as part of the Glimcher Seminar.

Aug 8

The Knowlton School welcomes incoming faculty for the 2019-20 academic year: Professor of Architecture Benjamin Flowers, and Assistant Professors of Landscape Architecture John Dean Davis and Michelle Arevalos Franco.