News from the School

Jun 19

Knowlton School Assistant Professor of Architecture Justin Diles’ on-going Plastic Stereotomy project, which last year won the TEX-FAB Plasticity design competition, has been featured in Architect Magazine. As the competition winner, Diles has developed his design into a full-scale, free-standing fabrication entitled Plastic Stereotomy. In March 2015, Plastic Stereotomy was installed in Houston for TEX-FAB 2015. And In May, the installation was on display at the 2015 AIA Convention in Atlanta.
Jun 19

Knowlton School City and Regional Planning students Jake Boehk, Andrew Bowsher, Ashley Hofmaster, Kalindi Parikh and Lia Yakumithis have won the American Planning Association’s competition Innovating Planning Apps for Planners: A Student and Emerging Professional Challenge. The competition was run through the APA’s Technology Division and was created “to challenge students and emerging professionals to come up with ‘proposals’ for web-based and mobile applications that will help the planning profession and the communities we serve.” As competition winners, Knowlton School team members were awarded $1,000 and their submission, Chip-In, will be featured in a future APA-Technology Division Newsletter publication.

Jun 18

The first of five dynamic parking lot attendant booths that transform the mundane into public art is now open. Titled Coney Island, the first booth is located in the parking lot of the The Westin Columbus–Great Southern Hotel in downtown Columbus just east of the corner of South High and East Main streets. The Bold Booths project combines art and function in one-of-a-kind installations unique to Columbus, Ohio. This pioneering project is an extension of Finding Time: ColumbusPublicArt2012. The innovative parking attendant booths will not only provide shelter for attendants, but will spark community dialogue about the role design plays in expanding the social capital within the city. Coney Island was designed by Knowlton School Associate Professor of Architecture Beth Blostein and Architecture Lecturer Bart Overly of Blostein/Overly Architects. The name is an homage to the legendary Southern Theatre.

Jun 18

The 2015 Jury of Fellows of the American Institute of Architects has elevated George Acock (BARCH ’63) to its prestigious College of Fellows, an honor awarded to members who have made significant contributions to the profession. Acock was honored in May at an investiture ceremony at the 2015 National AIA Convention and Design Exposition in Atlanta. The Fellowship program was developed to elevate those architects who have made a significant contribution to architecture and society and who have achieved a standard of excellence in the profession. Election to fellowship not only recognizes the achievements of architects as individuals, but also their significant contribution to architecture and society on a national level.

Jun 17

Raymond L. Nix, who received both his Master in City and Regional Planning ('94) and Bachelor of Science in Landscape Architecture ('92) from The Ohio State University, is steering Brightwood affordable housing development as founder of NixDevCo, LLC. The Development team comprised of The Hampstead Companies and NixDevCo, LLC will be joined by Mayor Muriel Bowser, local officials, and tenants for the groundbreaking for the Brightwood Portfolio, a plan to create and preserve 140 one-, two-, and three-bedroom affordable apartments for families across three buildings in the Brightwood neighborhood of Washington, D.C. To make the project possible, the Brightwood Tenants Association used the Tenant Opportunity to Purchase Act (TOPA) to preserve the affordability of the apartments in a rapidly gentrifying neighborhood while avoiding displacement from their homes.

Jun 17

The Ohio State University’s John Glenn College of Public Affairs and the College of Engineering announce the joint appointment of Dr. Edward “Ned” Hill, distinguished economist and dean of the Maxine Goodman Levin College of Urban Affairs at Cleveland State University, as professor of public affairs, effective September 1, 2015.

As a faculty member, Hill will teach economic development policy, public policy and public finance in both the Glenn College and the City and Regional Planning section.

Jun 17

Landscape Architecture Section Associate Professor Kristi Cheramie and Assistant Professor Sarah Cowles are two of 18 Jury Selection Finalists in the 2015 Field Constructs Design Competition (FCDC). The FCDC seeks to foster cutting-edge innovation by emerging national and international designers, architects, landscape architects and artists through works that actively engage with natural and cultural factors that are specific to the Austin, Texas and its surrounding region. Information about the Jury Selection Finalists is available on the competition website.

Jun 16

Knowlton School architecture alumnus Jeffrey Collins (BSARCH ’00, MARCH ’02) has been named one of five finalists in Field Experiment, a public action project in Atlanta organized by The Goat Farm, a creative industrial complex in West Midtown Atlanta, and The Hambidge Center, a non-profit organization that awards residency fellowships to distinguished artists and scientists at its 600 acre creative sanctuary in the Blue Ridge Mountains. Collins’ submission, Envelope, was selected from 130 applications received from 44 cities, 21 states and five countries.

May 27

Hazel Morrow-Jones, PhD, professor of city and regional planning and associate provost for women’s policy initiatives and director of The Women’s Place (TWP), will retire from the university. Her retirement is effective June 30.

Hazel joined Ohio State’s faculty in 1988 as an assistant professor in the City and Regional Planning Section of the Knowlton School of Architecture in the College of Engineering. As a faculty member, she has taught at all levels; her work has been widely published; and her service contributions have been extensive -- in her academic unit, college and across the university.

May 1

Alumni from the architecture student Class of 1966 have banded together to create the Class of '66 Architectural Scholarship Fund. This initiative was started in 2006, reached endowment level this year and in 2016 – the 50th anniversary year of the Class of 1966 – will be available to provide financial support to undergraduate or graduate architecture students based on merit and financial need.