News from the School

Mar 30

Roland Gustavsson is the 2016 Trott Distinguished Visiting Professor at the Knowlton School. Hosted by the school’s Landscape Architecture Section, Gustavsson will be a keynote speaker in the section’s THIS IS A TEST: Landscape as Site for Research symposium, and will teach in landscape architecture studios during his residency.

Mar 29

João Nunes is the Glimcher Distinguished Visiting Professor at the Knowlton School during Spring Semester 2016. A Visiting Professor in Landscape Architecture at Harvard GSD, Nunes is founder and CEO of the landscape architecture studio PROAP, where he develops conceptual and creative design, leads project development and defines the strategic orientation of the research process.

Mar 18

The 5th Annual Knowlton School Fashion Schau, organized by student group SERVitecture and hosted in Knowlton Hall’s Center Space on Friday, February 26, raised $1,613 for charity Dress for Success Columbus. That amount was the largest raised in the event’s history, exceeding last year’s total of $1,300.

Mar 8

Two dozen architecture students took part in a workshop run by Sean Lally, February 17-20, in Knowlton Hall. Lally is founder of WEATHERS/Sean Lally LLC, a Chicago-based office that explores new opportunities for how we design and build the environments that we live in. He was at Knowlton as a speaker in the spring semester Baumer Lecture Series, Atmosphere, in which he presented the lecture “Let’s Touch” on February 17.

Mar 1

The City and Regional Planning Student Association (CRPSA) was among five student organizations within the College of Engineering that were recognized for their efforts to inspire the next generation of innovators and solve real-world challenges during the second annual Student Organization Recognition & Awards at Drake Union on February 17.

Feb 22

Five Knowlton School students are this year’s recipients of Architecture Research and Travel Awards (ARTA) which support independent research during summer 2016. This year’s awardees are: Anastasia Betsch (MLA), El Camino de Santiago: The Pilgrim’s Garden; Katie Lau (BSARCH) and Andrew Miller (BSARCH), The Garden and the City; Jonathan Staker (MLA), Western Watersheds: Lifeline Landscape; Sandy Sechang (BSCRP), Syrian Refuges in Berlin.

Feb 12

Professor Robert Livesey is the recipient of a 2016 Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching. The award annually recognizes a maximum of ten Ohio State faculty members for their teaching excellence. Recipients are nominated by present and former students and colleagues and are chosen by a committee of alumni, students and faculty. Recipients are inducted into the university’s Academy of Teaching.

Feb 8

Eight winners of the annual Emerging Voices program have been announced by the Architectural League of New York, two of which are Knowlton School alumni. Marc Manack (BSARCH ’01, MARCH ’05) and Heather Roberge (BSARCH ’93, MARCH ’95) were selected by the jury panel for their distinct design voices and potential to influence the disciplines of architecture, landscape design and urbanism.

Feb 8

Congratulations to the 186 Knowlton School undergraduate students who made Dean’s List in Autumn 2015! Undergraduate students at Ohio State who complete a minimum of 12 graded credit hours with a term GPA of at least a 3.5 or higher for any given term will be named on the Dean’s List.

Jan 29

Design critic and theorist Robert Somol is the Knowlton School’s Spring 2016 Herbert Baumer Distinguished Visiting Professor. Somol joins a long list of prominent practitioners and scholars as Baumer Professors since the program’s inception in 1996, including Stan Allen, Zaha Hadid, Steven Holl, Eric Owen Moss, Greg Lynn, Sylvia Lavin, Preston Scott Cohen, Benjamin Bratton and Neil Denari.