2012 Gui Competition Winners Announced

The Knowlton School of Architecture is pleased to announce the winners of the Sixteenth Annual James E. Gui ’54 Design Competition:

Tied for First and Second place:
Melinda Emery and Stephanie Jones, “crow-o-zone” (Lisa Tilder studio)
Joseph Brookover and Timothy Beverage, “new sustainable perspective” (Kay Bea Jones studio)

Third place:
Reese Greenlee, “cultural ultrasounds” (Lisa Tilder studio)

Honorable mentions:
Jonathan Rieke, “grounds for divorce” (Doug Graf studio)
Jenna Bolino, Anthony Gagliardi and Brian Koehler, “porous remediation” (Karen Lewis studio)

The project for this year’s Competition was entitled AQUATIC ECOLOGIES: SALT RIVER BAY MARINE RESEARCH + EDUCATION CENTER. The site, in Salt River Bay National Historical Park and Ecological Preserve, is a National Park unit on the island of St. Croix in the U.S. Virgin Islands.

On May 3, 1996, the James E. Gui ’54 Design Competition Awards Fund was approved by The Ohio State University Board of Trustees. The Fund was generously established by Jim and Anne Gui through the OSU Foundation and will exist in perpetuity.

The Endowment Fund allows for a design competition to be incorporated into the curriculum of the undergraduate senior year of the architecture program. The Competition is conducted during the winter quarter and tests students’ skills in designing a project for a complex program on a challenging site. The Competition also encourages the students to understand the importance of a clear concept and presentation strategy.

Judging for the Competition takes place in two stages. Two projects are chosen from each studio section based on the end-of-quarter final review. Those projects are then judged by a jury consisting of at least one Knowlton School faculty member and a nationally recognized architect. Awards are made for the first place, second place, third place and honorable mentions.

The jury for the 2012 Competition consisted of:
Neeraj Bhatia, Professor, Rice University / INFRANET LAB
Patricia Kucker, Professor, University of Cincinnati / ASSOCIATE DEAN
Jimenez Lai, Professor, University of Illinois Chicago / BUREAU SPECTACULAR
Ryan Palider, Professor, University of Illinois Chicago / ADF STUDIO
Jason Scroggin, Professor, University of Kentucky / D.O.T.S. DESIGN OFFICE
Stephen Turk, Professor, Ohio State University / GRADUATE PROGRAM CHAIR

(Gui Competition Jury photo courtesy of Joshua Barnes)