April 27, 2021

Dorothée Imbert Named Jury Chair for Inaugural Oberlander Prize

The Cornelia Hahn Oberlander International Landscape Architecture Prize was created by The Cultural Landscape Foundation and is the first and only prize in landscape architecture to include a US$100,000 monetary award.

Dorothée Imbert has been selected to chair the jury for The Cultural Landscape Foundation's new Cornelia Hahn Oberlander International Landscape Architecture Prize. The award is named for the award-winning Canadian landscape architect, Cornelia Hahn Oberlander.

The seven members of the inaugural Cornelia Hahn Oberlander International Landscape Architecture Prize jury includes leading landscape architects, urban planners, architects, academics, and other experts from around the world. A pool of potential jurors was developed and ranked by an independent Oberlander Prize advisory board and the inaugural jury members were invited by the Oberlander Prize Curator to participate. The inaugural laureate, who will receive a $100,000 award and whose work will be the focus of two years of public engagement activities, will be announced in Fall 2021. 

The announcement of the Oberlander Prize is the beginning of a long-term campaign to: [a] establish the import and renown of the Oberlander Prize on par with the Pritzker Prize in architecture, the Nasher Prize in sculpture, and other internationally prestigious, influential, and desirable prizes and awards; [b] elevate the art and profession of landscape architecture; [c] promote informed stewardship among landscape architects, architects, and the arts and design communities more broadly, for works of landscape architecture by the Oberlander Prize recipient, and works of landscape architecture generally; and [d] elevate the level of critical discussion about designed landscapes to increase public appreciation for the role of design.

The jury includes Tatiana Bilbao, Michel Desvigne, Gina Ford, Teresa Gali-Izard, Walter Hood, Aki Omi​, and John Beardsley.

Read more at The Cultural Landscape Foundation