Alumna Susan Chin Recognized by ASLA

The American Society of Landscape Architects New York chapter has named Knowlton School alumna Susan Chin, FAIA (BARCH ’76) an honorary member in recognition of her service to the profession of landscape architecture. In addition, Design Trust for Public Space, of which Chin is the Executive Director, was awarded the 2015 Olmsted Medal by ASLA. Chin received both awards at the 2015 ASLA Annual Meeting and EXPO in Chicago in November.

Design Trust for Public Space is a non-profit organization that supports the use of public spaces through design excellence, environmental sustainability, mobility and neighborhood revitalization. The organization works in a cross-disciplinary setting with various executives, urbanists, civic leaders, and designers to create a strategic network for advancing New York City’s public spaces. Chin has managed numerous successful projects since joining the organization in 2011, many of which involve collaboration with landscape architects and urban designers. One project “Five Borough Farm Phase II” focused on promoting the benefits of urban agriculture and engaging key stakeholders for implementation. The project resulted in the publication Five Borough Farm II: Growing the Benefits of Urban Agriculture in New York City.

The Olmsted Medal was instituted in 1990 to recognize individuals, organizations, agencies, or programs outside the profession of landscape architecture for environmental leadership, vision, and stewardship. The Medal honors Frederick Law Olmsted, considered the founder of the American landscape architecture profession and steward of the environment. The ASLA award committee noted, "Design Trust's work can be seen, felt, and experienced throughout all five boroughs of New York City, inspiring and informing cities around the world."

Prior to her position at Design Trust for Public space, Susan Chin served as Assistant Commissioner of Capital Projects at the NYC Department of Cultural Affairs for 23 years. Chin is an American Institute of Architects (AIA) Public Architects award recipient and the 2011 Chair of the AIA Gold Medal Award advisory committee. She was the 2013-14 Vice President of AIA and is a former President of the AIA New York Chapter.